8.7
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
9.0
Property location
7.8
Facilities
8.9
Staff
9.3
Value
8.1

Reviews

    jessica
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    14 April 2018

    convenient location, and quiet and enjoyable ryokan

    slippers would have been good, we could not find any breakfast was a bit salty and would have been great if we could have got a pot of tea too to refill.
    the layout of the room and spacious it was. we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the room we also made good use of what was available in the room
    Pedro
    be

    Review score

    8.8
    8 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    7 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Flo
    li

    Review score

    9.2
    6 April 2018

    Very typical and excellent

    We missed some hookes in for Towel and on the balcon for clothes.
    The bathroom; The kindly staff; The localisation;
    Vanessa
    au

    Review score

    10
    6 April 2018
    Nothing.
    Everything. Great Japanese breakfast. Easy to catch train into Shinjuku. Very clean traditional Japanese style accommodation. Friendly staff. English speaking. Spacious rooms and huge bath. My favourite accommodation in Japan.
    RAYMOND
    au

    Review score

    6.2
    4 April 2018

    Like it but need more autheticity

    Would have appreciated some help with luggage to room, pity the building was being renovated at the time of stay, would have appreciated a more traditional bath rather than a spa bath for authenticity, also quite far out with not much activities around there, did not have enough time to find out more about the facilities but that is due to Qantas not Takemine
    Food was beautifully prepared and prompt, bedding and facilities were quaint as expected, lovely staff
    nadine
    us

    Review score

    6.0
    4 April 2018

    good experience traditional stay

    location is not good to far to the train station , not good for kids!!
    breakfest
    BOFEI
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    1 April 2018
    the room was bigger than we thought, bathroom was just epic
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    31 March 2018

    Boutique hotel in university area

    No laundry service - although there is a laundromat nearby. A little bit out of the way if you are trying to use JR stations (10 minute walk to Takadano baba station on the Yamanote/loop line) although there is a metro/subway station much closer that takes you directly to Shinjuku. Costs of metro is also quite cheap - from about ¥170 to ¥300 - so not a deterrent at all!
    The room was enormous, with a bedroom, tatami room and both indoor and outdoor bathrooms! The staff were very friendly, and included breakfast was promptly delivered at the requested time. Maps and guide books were readily available at the front desk.
    Alyanna
    ph

    Review score

    8.3
    31 March 2018

    You'll miss it when you leave.

    It's frustrating talking to receptionists who are good enough in English but not skilled enough to converse with you if you have inquiries not normally asked. It was difficult to find the place, too. There are two possible entrances to the property. You might miss it if you're walking in the main street. Also, take note to book the time of your breakfast in advance because they only have limited slots for specific time. All that being said, this is just me nitpicking. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
    I like the location of the property. It's still near the noisy, city part of Tokyo but it's actually in the more quiet part of Shinjuku area. You get to experience both worlds with just a short train ride. It's not a hassle to commute because the train station is literally just in the other side of the river. I also like how spacious the rooms are. You get to walk around in it, which is not usually the case with Japanese hotels. I mean, you get to eat your breakfast in your room, too, which says a lot about the space. The toiletries given were well known Japanese products you'll delight in. There was a fridge, microwave, tea set, coffee set, etc etc in the room. Everything a traveller needed, they provided. The over-all experience was really good. When my family and I transferred hotels, my siblings immediately missed this one.
    au

    Review score

    10
    31 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    See Yee
    sg

    Review score

    7.5
    19 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mark
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    9 February 2018

    Somewhere slightly different to stay in Tokyo

    There were some renovations being done which were noisy, and the breakfasts were just ok. We've stayed here before but found the service not as good as a couple of years ago.
    I like the location of this ryokan, a little away from the usual tourist areas. The rooms are large, great for families with kids, with a separate master bedroom, and a large private japanese bathroom.
    Lisa
    cn

    Review score

    9.2
    1 February 2018

    Very nice stay!

    restaurant nearby is not too much.
    Nice staff, comfortable room, location is fine.
    Louise
    au

    Review score

    6.2
    30 January 2018

    Better off elsewhere

    Not sure where to start but maybe it would have been helpful to know in advance there was construction work ongoing. At first glance the rooms were spacious and tidy but on closer inspection there were cracked tiles in the bathroom, mould on the walls and ceiling and a small hole in the wall. The heating sounded like an airplane taking off so made sleep difficult and was either operating too hot or just cold. I could not recommend the breakfast. All in all this hotel is very dated and in dire need of a makeover and more knowledgeable and helpful staff.
    Close to the train station
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    8 January 2018
    No natural light. Not a big issue being out visiting most of the time
    Very nice room and bathroom, outside bath, comfi beds
    rita
    id

    Review score

    8.8
    5 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au

    Review score

    5.0
    21 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    sutee
    th

    Review score

    7.5
    30 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Cyrus
    ae

    Review score

    8.8
    30 November 2017

    The staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly

    The space between the bed and the wall should have been more
    Breakfast was hot n good
Loading reviews